Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (29) - TV Shows (19) - DVDs (1) - Games (1)

The Snowman review

Posted : 3 weeks, 6 days ago on 26 December 2017 05:45 (A review of The Snowman)

This movie was so .....sooo....soooo.......slow. There were barely any scenes of suspense. It was just...watching people walk around and conversations that were useless. The character had lots of appeal to them but what a shame they didn't create a more suspenseful movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Problem with Apu review

Posted : 1 month, 1 week ago on 12 December 2017 02:10 (A review of The Problem with Apu)

Wow. I am probably going to get a lot of slack about this. I am of South Asian descent. But I am West Indian. Growing up indeed it was very difficult for all of us to see someone represent us on TV or cartoons. As much as Apu was very funny. He did not represent South Asians. But for an outsider he represented all people who looked of Indian descent. Even though we come from various parts of the world with different cultures and religions. I feel for those people who were bullied and were mocked with the fake accent that the character had. And I agree that the character voice should not be played by a Caucasian person. But if anything this documentary shows the bias and the trials and tribulation South Asians have in film and television. We are looked at as one way and it is really nice to see South Asians breaking this barrier of having no accent and acting like regular people in our society. As much as it hurts me to explain myself in such a vague way I hope someone realizes that just because of the color of our skin generations of a family do not speak that way, worship that same religion, have that same Outlook as the character on The Simpsons. Overall is documentary open my eyes to see the true problem in all of this. Which is the character is mocking South Asians and is being represented by someone who is mocking us. However that does not speak about the whole show. We all have to remember the Simpsons aired during a time where it was okay to create voices and make fun of reality, politics, people, culture and many more things. Which is why I will not stop watching The Simpsons, it is as funny as it was when it first aired and I was watching it on my parents couch. But I appreciate this documentary and hopefully it will Open the Eyes of a lot of people who are in control of characters and individuals who are acting on television and movies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond review

Posted : 1 month, 1 week ago on 12 December 2017 02:04 (A review of Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond)

This movie / documentary was Haunting. I feel so sorry for Jim Carrey. He has such an amazing career and so many accolades. But he clearly suffers from the loss of his father and other things in his life. It is really haunting to see him take on characters and genuinely take on their Persona and have somewhat of an identity trial and tribulation discourse. It was a great documentary especially since Jim Carrey spoke a lot about the things and background footage that nobody has ever seen. Again this was very haunting to watch. I also can't lie I never watch man on the moon. Because back in the day there was so much media about Jim Carrey and his performance on man on the moon.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Joe Mande's Award-Winning Comedy Special review

Posted : 5 months, 1 week ago on 17 August 2017 09:30 (A review of Joe Mande's Award-Winning Comedy Special)

So stupid. He's not that funny .... I stopped watching because his dry sense of humor was annoying. Along with his facial expression... he looks depressed.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Everlasting review

Posted : 7 months, 2 weeks ago on 9 June 2017 07:28 (A review of Everlasting)

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO STUPID
Horrible film.
I wasted a lot of minutes watching it...trying to watch it.
WACK.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hostage to the Devil review

Posted : 11 months ago on 20 February 2017 04:23 (A review of Hostage to the Devil)

I can't lie. This documentary was very confusing... but I stuck to it and tried my best to understand the point of view. All n' all it was a good Netflix film/documentary. It was just a little 'jumpy' with events. Reading the synopsis I got a better understanding.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Happening review

Posted : 1 year ago on 22 January 2017 07:44 (A review of The Happening)

Woooooooooooooow.................

SPOILER:

so basically they were running away from:
- the wind
- chemicals in the wind

#WasteOfTime


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Game review

Posted : 1 year, 4 months ago on 12 September 2016 11:24 (A review of The Game)

So. I watched all 9 Seasons.
I love the show. The comedy is hilarious.......BUT. I'm going to be real here. So if you don't want spoilers.... I suggest don't read on.......now!

So Season 1 TO Season 5 (and one or two episodes from season 6) was the greatest. Why because Derwin and Melanie were in the show. However because of reason in the plot and characters they had to go. After that.... I guess the show got a new director or something but the acting was horrible. The plot lines were just PURE drama. And the segments / cuts were frozen stills with horrible sepia wash. It was just weird. I get that BET bought the show. But, You can also tell a lot of change happened and unnecessary characters were involved (e.g., BluePrint...Keira... etc...).

The only characters that kept me in-tuned was Coby Bell (Jason Pitts). Thankfully Brittany Daniel (Kelly Pitts) returned in the second last season.

All n' all the last season was getting better... and the last episode and another recap episode in Season 9 was very nostalgic because they brought back the old characters.

Frankly it seemed The Game ended at Season 5 and there were 4 unnecessary seasons. I really don't know what the writers/directors were thinking. It seems that there were a lot of drama behind the scenes hence the major discrepancies and story lines that started and disappeared (e.g., Malik can't read?)

Also it was odd to see Brandy change so much - as if she was battling an eating disorder of some sort.

Anyways it was a good show while it lasted. I just know that most of my laughs came out during Season 1-5.
PS/ I still think everyone should watch it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Wendy: The Wendy Williams Show review

Posted : 1 year, 5 months ago on 15 August 2016 02:28 (A review of Wendy: The Wendy Williams Show)

Honestly she is my daily news. Wendy is funny and I love her nuances. I make sure to PVR the show while I'm at work and when I get home I get some amazing laughs!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Family Matters review

Posted : 1 year, 5 months ago on 15 August 2016 02:27 (A review of Family Matters)

I finished watching all the Seasons of Family Matters! What a great show! I love the whole cast and yes the show was mostly about Urkel. So it doesn't matter if 'JoMarie Payton' (Harriette) wasn't in the last few episodes of the last season. I missed watching this show - and so at the age of 31 going back and watching it was very nostalgic. I'm sad a lot of children will never get the chance to watch shows like this or any that were on TGIF. Hopefully a network can syndicate it. A++++


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block